Serendipity

Le don magique de faire par hasard des découvertes heureuses

Union Jack 6 avril, 2009

Filed under: Addicted to Shopping — Mel @ 11:22
Tags: , ,

Last time I set foot in London was almost 10 years ago (scary!). So with the financial crisis and the pound’s exchange rate plummeting to £1 to almost €1, it was high time to jump on the Eurostar for a shopping frenzy and spend my left-over 60 quid stashed away in a butterfly Accessorized purse back when I used to be a UK resident. When I bought my travel card ready to hit the high street shops I soon found out that my old £5 notes were no longer accepted and had to change them at the nearest bank. But that didn’t stop me from my shopping spree at Topshop. Thank goodness for VISA! Dads, hubbies and boyfriends were all waiting at the front of the shop for the gals to be done with their Saturay night shopping. They all had a look of utter boredom stuck on their faces. That hasn’t changed!

Rummaging thouroughly through every inch of Topshop’s aisles, I stumbled across this Union Jack jersey vest with a plain blue silk back and instantly fell in love with it. You need to add extra layering underneath because it’s oversized (the arm holes are huge).

Presque 10 ans que je n’avais pas mis les pieds à Londres. Et avec la crise et la livre sterling qui valait pratiquement 1£ pour 1€, c’était le feu vert pour partir en expédition shopping dans la capitale britannique pendant un week-end de trois jours, fin mars, histoire de dépenser les 60£ qui me restaient à l’époque où je vivais à Londres et que j’avais précieusement gardé dans un porte-monnaie Accessorize, recouvert de papillons. Samedi matin quand je me suis pointée pour acheter mon travel card, le monsieur derrière le guichet m’apprend que mes vieux billets de 5£ ne sont plus valables (sic !) Mais je peux les échanger dans n’importe quelle banque. Ouf ! Arrivée  à Topshop, je vois, comme d’habitude, les pères, maris et jules qui patientent avec un air de patience exaspérée devant l’entrée du magasin, pendant que leurs filles s’adonnent à leur activité préférée du samedi après-midi.

En procédant au quadrillage quasi militaire de chaque mètre carré du magasin, mes recherches sont enfin récompensées lorsque mes mains se saisissent de ce top aux couleurs du drapeau anglais (plus fish ‘n’ chips, tu meurs) avec le dos en soie bleu uni. La coupe est XXL (surtout au niveau des bras) donc il faut rajouter un débardeur en-dessous, mais qu’importe, je l’adore !

union_jack-1
union_jack-7
union_jack-10
union_jack-17

Union Jack jersey £30 Topshop
White cashmere vest £20 Topshop
Jacket -Zara (summer collection circa 2003)
Rolled-up skinny bleached jeans – H&M
Court shoes Fornarina
Bag Pimkie
Sunglasses £1 Primark

I also like the way the outfit works out with a few more masculin details, such as a pair of boyfriend jeans (Topshop again), white brogues and a straw trilby.

J’aime bien aussi la version plus masculine (mais toujours féminine) de cette tenue avec un boyfriend jean (Topshop), des derbys blanches façon Repetto et un chapeau.

union_jack-42
union_jack-62
union_jack-68
union_jack-731
union_jack-76

Union Jack jersey £30 Topshop
White cashmere vest £20 Topshop
Jacket -Zara (summer collection circa 2003)
Rolled-up boyfriend jeans £40 Topshop
White brogues André
Straw Trilby Hat H&M
Sunglasses £1 Primark
 

Laisser un commentaire

